Battery won't charge

Introduce yourself to the community. Tell us about yourself, what you ride, and share your favorite picture.
T-man
New to XJR
New to XJR
Region or State: North-Holland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1992, Yamaha XJ600S Diversion

Battery won't charge

Post by T-man » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:29 pm

Hi everyone,

My name is Thom and I am currently a Bachelor student in Hospitality management.
I always wanted a motorbike when I rode my 50 CC Gilera GSM moped. Well... When I got the opportunity to obtain my license I got it a.s.a.p. After riding for 4 years now, I never faced major problems. However, now i have an annoying electrical problem....
My battery won't charge and my Multi- meter tells me that (with a running engine and head lights on) that it gets 12,45 Volts, without head lights and a running engine 13,06... I try to check my rectifier but bought a new one anyway. Sadly, I haven't found the problem yet. Ohh I haven't checked the wires that come out of the stator... Furthermore I often read that it could also be as simple as ground wire... Hoe much volt sholud I get from the regulator/rectifier? And how much from the stator/dynamo?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
you have to start somewhere...

Kadettgek
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Region or State: Nederland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1990 Yamaha xj600

Re: Battery won't charge

Post by Kadettgek » Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:04 am

Why did you measure the charging voltage? is your battery running low on power?
Is your bike idling when you measure the voltage? It should be charging at a higher RPM rate. try 3000rpm

There is a loose groundwire in your picture.... try and connect that one up.

T-man
New to XJR
New to XJR

Post by T-man » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:05 am

@kadettgek