Hello from cool and wet Northern Ireland

Introduce yourself to the community. Tell us about yourself, what you ride, and share your favorite picture.
raytherip
New to XJR
New to XJR
Region or State: Northern Ireland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: Yamaha XJS 600 Diverson

Hello from cool and wet Northern Ireland

Post by raytherip » Sat May 13, 2017 12:11 pm

Hi folks

I am new to the xjs ideas so hello, I live in Northern Ireland and would ride around Strangford lough (really pretty when the sun is shining).

I am going to put new clutch friction plates and springs in to my 1996 Yamaha 600 Diverson. I have noticed that it is a bit noisy when ticking over and a wee bit of research says it could be either carbs need balanced, or play in a dowel at the back of the clutch basket. I was wondering if you guys had any thought? It revs cleanly and motors on when I open her up with no hesitation at all. The gears 1st and 2nd seem to be clunky but this seems to be the norm, if the new springs and friction plate don't help I can live with it.

Ireally like the Divi it quick enough for me when I want it to be and it fairly cheap running costs wise... Anyway many thanks for reading.

I am using an iPad and I want to launch it out the window atm, much prefer a laptop (which has sadly died)😒😒

Regards

Raymond
Many thanks regards

Raymond

Crimson
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Region or State: London
Motorcycles Owned Currently: XJ600S

Re: Hello from cool and wet Northern Ireland

Post by Crimson » Sat May 13, 2017 12:49 pm

Hello and welcome. I hope you stick around and post.

The clutch basket rattle thing is typical on these bikes. If you check this Youtube video, you'll hear what it sounds like:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MhTUyYU1RsY

Sounds horrific but from what I understand, it's harmless. In case you're in doubt as to whether it's clutch rattle, this rattle is something you should only hear on idle.