Indicator Issues

Maintenance, repair, troubleshooting, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
FrozenXJ
New to XJR
New to XJR
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:55 pm
Region:: Scotland
Motorcycles:: 1995 XJ600N
Great Britain

Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:52 am

Hello,

I've been having a few issues with my front indicators. The bike has been converted to LED indicators by a previous owner and recently the front two just do not flash, and the rear two work- but flash at twice the speed. Occasionally the front ones will work and the flash speed will be normal, but only for two flashes or so.

I've bought a circuit tester with a bulb and used it on them, believing that I would be able to trace it back to a bad earth or something. However, a current was reaching past the flasher relay on both the left and right indicators and going into the indicators themselves- which are still not flashing. The current seemed to be of the same strength that was going into the rear ones and flashing at the same double rate.

This leads me to believe it's the indicators themselves that are faulty, but both the left and right breaking at the same time? Seems unlikely, so any suggestions what on earth could be causing this? Tried tracing the wires back into the bike but really not sure what I'm doing and the wiring is a bit of a mess with the aftermarket indicators and an alarm.
User avatar
Jbeer73
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:58 am
Region:: Netherlands
Motorcycles:: 1997 Yamaha diversion XJ600s
Location: Utrecht
Netherlands

Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:43 am

What happens when you put the front-blinkers on the back? Do they stil not work?
If the don't work on the back either, they are probably broken.
If they do work on the back, the blinkers are not faulty and chances are there's a problem with your wireing or the flasher relay.
User avatar
radare
Site Founder
Site Founder
Posts: 8568
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:42 pm
Region:: Rocky Mountains
Motorcycles:: '92 XJR600, '92 Seca II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:
United States of America

Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:37 am

Usually, no flash on LED bulbs is caused by the thermal relay not having enough current to work correctly. And a double flash indicates that a bulb is out. I think you have a resistance problem. When the PO installed the LED signals, were inline resistors used?

And are the front signals wired as running lights as well, or just signals?
User avatar
andrewed1
One of the Regulars
One of the Regulars
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:51 pm
Region:: Sydney, Australia
Motorcycles:: XJ600 Seca II - 1992 & a 2nd 92 xj600s
Location: Sydney, Australia
Australia

Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:09 pm

When i changed my i brought a LED relay (Plug and Play) no issues at all.. very easy and no resistors

https://www.ebay.com/itm/LED-FLASHER-RE ... 1437958523

Image
User avatar
FrozenXJ
New to XJR
New to XJR
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:55 pm
Region:: Scotland
Motorcycles:: 1995 XJ600N
Great Britain

Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:29 pm

Jbeer73 wrote:
Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:43 am
What happens when you put the front-blinkers on the back? Do they stil not work?
If the don't work on the back either, they are probably broken.
If they do work on the back, the blinkers are not faulty and chances are there's a problem with your wireing or the flasher relay.
They did, you were correct with the wiring problem. Traced one side down to a bad ground connection, but didn't figure out the other side before I left the bike in a garage for the worst of the winter.
radare wrote:
Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:37 am
Usually, no flash on LED bulbs is caused by the thermal relay not having enough current to work correctly. And a double flash indicates that a bulb is out. I think you have a resistance problem. When the PO installed the LED signals, were inline resistors used?

And are the front signals wired as running lights as well, or just signals?
I've never actually come across a thermal relay before, thought they were only used on old cars. Bulb out was my first idea until swapping them around ruled that out. He did indeed, one inline load resistor per indicator. Just as signals as far as I can tell, I'm just putting it down to a bad connection somewhere for the moment.
Post Reply

Navigation:

  Search

  New Posts

  Unread Posts

  The Wall

  Gallery

  About Us