Gauges for Naked Conversion

Maintenance, repair, troubleshooting, etc.
User avatar
fateddy
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:07 pm
Region:: North Colorado
Motorcycles:: 1996 XJ600N, 1991 Suzuki DR350
United States of America

Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:24 pm

wzc0014 wrote:the fz600 gauges are a direct swap on the wiring harness. they can easily be mounted in some autometer cups too. there's a decent amount of people on here that have done this including myself, greeny, ride92, radare, drapheus and others check out some project threads.
That's the late 80s model gauges, correct? I've been reading all the naked conversion threads, and that was the impression I was getting.
Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there lurks the skid demon.
User avatar
wzc0014
XJ Enthusiast
XJ Enthusiast
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:23 pm
Region:: Auburn, AL
Motorcycles:: 1992 Seca II

Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:29 pm

ya, i think mine were 87 or 88. they can usually be found for about $50 on ebay. or drapheus actually used the seca gauges in the autometer cups
User avatar
Just8KB8
New to XJR
New to XJR
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 5:20 am
Region:: Netherlands
Motorcycles:: XJ600s Diversion (1998)

Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:41 am

I've bought and installed this one:
Image

You can find it here:
http://www.louis.de/_105fe0b5efebc51dc9 ... r=10034806



It works and looks awesome. Analog rpm indicator and digital km/h display. Indicator lights for neutral, turn signal, high beam, engine warning. Plus a clock odo- and trip-meter. It does require you to rewire some stuff from your old instrument panel to this one, but it is a very lean and nice looking speedometer (especially when in the dark).

On my bike (still need to make a custom mount for it more underneath the windshield so this is only temporary):
Image
User avatar
radare
Site Founder
Site Founder
Posts: 8568
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:42 pm
Region:: Rocky Mountains
Motorcycles:: '92 XJR600, '92 Seca II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:
United States of America

Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:26 pm

Just8KB8 wrote:I've bought and installed this one:
Image
Not a bad looking gauge. Clean and simple. How's the tach response?
User avatar
BCooper
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:13 am
Region:: Flagstaff, AZ
Motorcycles:: 1992 Yamaha Seca II

Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:41 am

Would XS850 gauges be an acceptable replacement provided fabricated mounts > http://www.ebay.com/itm/Yamaha-850-Spec ... eb&vxp=mtr ? Is there a specific way of telling aside from rim size and tach limit?
"Live, love, bless, adventure and don't be sorry" - JK
Scootin93XJ600
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:37 pm
Region:: Illinois
Motorcycles:: 1993 Yamaha XJ 600 Seca 2
Location: Peoria/Bloomington, IL

Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:26 pm

I have found that my guage is off a bit. when i'm doing 54mph according to the guage my actual speed is 45mph. cant find much on how to change the settings on my acewell guage. I have the ENTIRE two pages of info for installation but cant comprehend the formula for the programming.
User avatar
Tloza7
New to XJR
New to XJR
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:39 pm
Region:: Virginia
Motorcycles:: xj600 seca

Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:38 am

I use a acewell

Image
Scootin93XJ600
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:37 pm
Region:: Illinois
Motorcycles:: 1993 Yamaha XJ 600 Seca 2
Location: Peoria/Bloomington, IL

Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:48 pm

Same model on mine. How much of a difference between guage and actual speed do you have. What is yours set at
Scootin93XJ600
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:37 pm
Region:: Illinois
Motorcycles:: 1993 Yamaha XJ 600 Seca 2
Location: Peoria/Bloomington, IL

Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:55 pm

I have read the instructions and after reading them a few seperate times i got it.
Scootin93XJ600
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:37 pm
Region:: Illinois
Motorcycles:: 1993 Yamaha XJ 600 Seca 2
Location: Peoria/Bloomington, IL

Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:03 pm

The po said he did not install the magnetic speed sensor so im trying search for info on this matter
Post Reply

Navigation:

  Search

  New Posts

  Unread Posts

  The Wall

  Gallery

  About Us