Jims XJ600N thread

Every XJ is a project whether big or small. Tell us about yours.
Slartibartfast
XJ Enthusiast
XJ Enthusiast
Region or State: Helensburgh, Scotland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1999 XJ600N
Great Britain

Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:47 am

Hi folks

I figured it was about time that I started a thread in here for my bike. Its probably not really a project, not like some of the custom jobs and restorations on here, but its now quite tired and in need of some TLC.

A little about me: I'm an electrical engineer (on paper) but with mostly mechanical (hyd/air systems) experience from a career on Submarines. Comes in handy for playing around with tools, I dont have a huge wealth of experience with engines but can generally work my way through things (especially with the help of you lovely lot).

The current bike is my second XJ; the first was a 600S in red, bought as a confidence builder following a collision with a deer on my previous bike. I sold it to move house and then bought my current 600N 3 years ago. Two Scottish winters have not been kind to it!

Its been off the road since the middle of last year due to work, family and a new hobby (MTBing) taking over. To be honest I'd kind of lost the buzz that biking had always given me. A mate (who has just passed his Part 1 test) has managed to give me the buzz back with his enthusiasm for biking, so last weekend I dragged the bike out of the corner of the garage (took an hour to free the brakes and wheels up), charged the battery, and she started without too much hesitation :)

So I've spent the last couple of hours crawling around it and have a list of jobs to do:

Brakes - new hoses, pads, seals, caliper paint - a full system overhaul
Wheels - paint, clean up discs, new tyres (front is gubbed and I have a new 4 inch rear with no tyre on it)
Chain - you'll see why in a minute!
Swing arm removal - to address corrosion issues and check / grease bearings / pivot points
Shock removal - as above