Newbie with his latest project bike!

Custom XJ builds, restorations, major modifications or just a topic dedicted to your own bike. Look here for long term cool projects.
Jimbo
XJ Enthusiast
XJ Enthusiast

Hello everyone,

I wanted to take this time to introduce myself and write about my current project. I am a newbie to this site, but far from a newbie to these bikes. This is my 5th Yamaha Seca II that I have owned over the 35 odd years of riding. My latest bike project is a 1994 model in the less common medium to light blue color (I affectionately call it “Smurf blue”). I found it about a little more than 2 months ago. When I went to see it, the seller said “it was a great running bike that he rode all summer, but developed a starting issue recently so it probably just needs a little tune up”. Yeah right (I thought to myself). It was obvious that this bike had not been run a minimum of 4 years. Why must sellers insist on lying so badly? The bike only had about 9K miles and overall physically looked OK and all the parts were there. Yes, it had fallen on the left side lightly breaking the end off of the clutch lever as well as the rear turn signal and scratched (but not cracked) the front faring and bar end. I hooked jumper cables to it (battery was completely dead, surprise!) and could see the entire electrical was in working order (all the lights worked, engine cranked easily and there was spark at each plug) so that was good. I opened the gas tank and could instantly tell the fuel smelled bad. Shining a light into it I could see it had a brownish tint and there was a separated layer down below (water more than likely). The seller was asking $800 for it. I offered $500. He took it immediately. He obviously didn’t have a clue to how to repair it. As you can see in the “before” picture when I got it home it was partially taken apart by the hapless seller. I used the Permatex plastic weld on the broken rear turn signal, hence the black duct tape holding it in place