Operation naked/cafe is a go

Every XJ is a project whether big or small. Tell us about yours.
skydivemurray
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Region or State: WI
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1992 Seca 2

Sat Apr 07, 2012 9:31 am

Alright after much deliberation and seeing caspers white seca I have decided to do the cafe / streetfighter conversion. So Casper or anyone with a street fighter mod if you would be willing to share your secrets that would be great cause idk where to start! I love the clip ons but to be honest I have no idea how they work :what: anyway pics and reports to come. I have a v and h system coming as well! I'm no mechanic but pretty handy so we'll see how it goes.

skydivemurray
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around

Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:23 am

Btw pretend this is in projects... I clicked the wrong one :oops:

Casper
Almost as Awesome as Murdock
Region or State: Motor City (MI)
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1994 XJ600, 2006 SV650

Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:56 am

Welcome to the mad house of modifications.

Clip ons are simply just a clamp with a tube sticking out. You remove the top triple, slide the clip on clamp down the tube and tighten the bolts down a little, slide the other side down and tighten the bolts down a little. Then you play with the bars to find the same angle on both so that they are symmetrical and are as comfortable you can get with them. Make sure that at full lock that they don't hit the tank. Then tighten them down to torque specs if you have them. The FZR top triple is the same offset, tube width, and tube diameter as our Secas and has a flat top instead of a pair of risers. It really cleans it up if you wanted to go that route.